Our Schools

Lichfield is one of the 42 Dioceses which make up the Church of England. Within this family of Dioceses, Lichfield can claim to be one of the most ancient with its roots in the Diocese of Mercia, founded in 656 AD and St Chad, who became the first Bishop of Lichfield in 669 AD. The Diocese now covers most of the County of Staffordshire, the northern part of the County of Shropshire and a substantial part of the former Metropolitan County of the West Midlands. The Diocese envelops all or part of 7 Local Authorities and has 206 Church Schools and academies in its remit.

The principle focus of the work of the Board of Education is on its Church Schools, which have approximately 45,000 pupils in them. This presents enormous opportunities to the Diocese, its schools and parishes to promote the Christian message and values among so many children and young people – the greater part of whom will have no links with their local church.

The Board provides excellent support services for its church schools through the Service Level Agreement. This provides the means for schools and academies to access advice, information and professional support on Collective Worship, Spiritual Care, Religious Education and the development of a school’s distinctive character as a Church of England school.

The Board works in partnership with the seven Local Authorities in the Diocese (Sandwell, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Stoke-on-Trent, Telford & Wrekin, Walsall and Wolverhampton) and also with the Department for Education and  a number of Academy Trusts. The Board also works alongside higher and further education providers.

The Board ensures that headteachers, teachers and governors have the intellectual and spiritual resources to promote the distinctive Christian character of our schools. The Board also supports the collaboration between clergy, parishes, church and community schools.



LDBE Policy on Academies

Academy Conversion Information

MATs in our diocese

LDBE Strategic Plan 2018-21